Official: Cowboys move on from six assistant coaches


Cowboys head coach Mike McCarthy released a statement on Thursday morning to formally announce that the organization has decided to move on from six assistant coaches.

Live On-Air
Ask Your Smart Speaker to Play One Oh Five Three The Fan
105.3 The Fan
Listen Now
Now Playing
Now Playing

The coaches who didn't have their contracts renewed for next season include running backs coach Skip Peete, senior defensive assistant George Edwards, assistant defensive line coach Leon Lett, offensive line coach Joe Philbin, assistant head coach Rob Davis and offensive assistant Kyle Valero.

“We thank these men for their hard work, dedication and contributions to the Cowboys. Each of them represented our team and organization at a high, professional level with class and commitment to making our team better,” said McCarthy. “These were difficult decisions to make because of the great respect I have for each of them as a coach and person of character, combined with the experiences we’ve all gone through together. This is the hardest part of the business and we wish them nothing but the best.”

McCarthy will hold a press conference at 3 p.m. CT on Thursday to address the coaching staff decisions. You can hear the press conference live on 105.3 The Fan.

Featured Image Photo Credit: USA Today Images