Matt Nagy Named AP Coach Of The Year

(670 The Score) After leading the Bears from worst to first and the NFC North crown, Matt Nagy capped his first season in Chicago by being honored as AP Coach of the Year.

The recognition was delivered in Atlanta late Saturday afternoon as part of the NFL Honors procession during Super Bowl week. Chargers coach Anthony Lynn and Colts coach Frank Reich were also finalists for the award. Nagy is the first Bears coach to win AP Coach of the Year since Lovie Smith in 2005.

Hired a year ago January, Nagy inherited a Bears team that was 14-34 in three seasons under its previous regime and led it to a 12-4 mark and the division title in 2018. The Bears played in their first playoff game since 2011, a 16-15 loss to the Eagles in the wild-card round.

Nagy's dozen victories in 2018 marked the most ever by a first-year Bears coach. He was also recognized as NFL Coach of the Year by the Professional Football Writers Association.

The NFL Honors will be broadcast at 8 p.m. CT Saturday on CBS.

Chris Emma covers the Bears, Chicago’s sports scene and more for Follow him on Twitter @CEmma670.​