NFL fans question rule after late hit on Bucs' Mike Evans results in Rams ball

By , Audacy

At one point early in the fourth quarter, it seemed as if everything was beginning to break the Bucs’ way.

Live On-Air
Ask Your Smart Speaker to Play W E E I
WEEI 93.7
Listen Now
Now Playing
Now Playing

After getting the ball back one play after turning it over, the Bucs were trying to capitalize but faced a fourth-and-long on the Los Angeles 36-yard line when Tom Brady targeted Mike Evans deep down field.

The ball was incomplete, but Evans was hit late by Rams safety Eric Weddle drawing a flag.

It appeared as if the Bucs were bailed out by a personal foul penalty committed by the Rams and would get an automatic first down.

However, as head official Shawn Hochuli said in his explanation of the penalty, the ball had hit the ground before Evans was hit by Weddle, therefore it was a dead-ball foul and the Rams would get the ball back and be assessed the penalty at the start of their drive.

The officials got the call right, but it left nearly everyone watching to question whether or not that the rule should be that way.

There was still 12-plus minutes remaining in the game when the penalty occurred, so there was plenty of time for the Bucs to construct a comeback had the rule rewarded them and leaving everyone wondering what might have been.

LISTEN on the Audacy App
Sign Up and Follow Audacy Sports
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram