Ed Sheeran shares that his new album, 'Autumn Variations,' arrives September 29

‘When I learned about my friend’s different situations, I wrote songs’
Ed Sheeran
Photo credit Annie Leibovitz
By , Audacy

While he’s done with his mathematical equation album titles, singer Ed Sheeran is adding another project to his already impressive lineup.

Listen to Ed Sheeran Radio and more on the free Audacy app

Releasing yet another album in 2023, his second in six months, Sheeran's Autumn Variations, is set to arrive on September 29.

Explaining the concept for the upcoming album with an official statement, Sheeran said, “Last autumn, I found that my friends and I were going through so many life changes. After the heat of the summer, everything either calmed, settled, fell apart, came to a head or imploded.”

He continued, “when I went through a difficult time at the start of last year, writing songs helped me understand my feelings and come to terms with what was going on, and when I learned about my friend’s different situations, I wrote songs, some from their perspectives, some from mine, to capture how they and I viewed the world at that time. There were highs of falling in love and new friendships among lows of heartbreak, depression, loneliness and confusion.”

“My dad and brother told me about a composer called Elgar, who composed ‘Enigma Variations’, where each of the 14 compositions were about a different one of his friends. This is what inspired me to make this album.”

Like his previous album, this follow-up was produced by Aaron Dessner of the National, as Ed noted, “we clicked immediately. We wrote and recorded non-stop and this album was born out of that partnership. I feel he has captured the feeling of autumn so wonderfully in his sonics and I hope everyone loves it as much as I do.”

Along with sharing the intimate concept and title, Sheeran also revealed the album’s 14-song track list, as well as the album’s cover art, which is filled with small illustrations of things Sheeran associates with the fall season, and his experiences: “changing trees,” “old coats,” “rough tides,” “dreams of spring,” “football,” “bad news” (with a gravestone drawing), “nights getting longer” and “serenity” among them. Check out both below.

Ed Sheeran 'Autumn Variations' album cover
Photo credit Atlantic Records

Autumn Variations Tracklist:

1. Magical
2. England
3. Amazing
4. Plastic Bag
5. Blue
6. American Town
7. That’s On Me
8. Page
9. Midnight
10. Spring
11. Punchline
12. When Will I Be Alright
13. The Day I Was Born
14. Head > Heels

LISTEN on the Audacy App
Sign Up and Follow Audacy 
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Featured Image Photo Credit: Annie Leibovitz