Bruce Springsteen set to release new album of soul covers called 'Only the Strong Survive'

Available November 11
Bruce Springsteen
Photo credit Brian Ach/Getty Images

Get ready, Springsteen fans, A one-of-a-kind album is headed your way.

Listen to your favorite music now on Audacy and check out Bruce Springsteen Radio

Exclusive Station
Bruce Springsteen Radio
Listen Now
Now Playing
Now Playing

Bruce Springsteen has revealed plans to release a new studio album, Only The Strong Survive, featuring 15 soul music covers on November 11.

Not only will the late 60s-early 70s inspired project feature songs from Motown and Stax Records catalogs, but also some special guests. Those include Sam Moore, the E Street Horns, and backing vocalists Soozie Tyrell, Lisa Lowell, Michelle Moore, Curtis King Jr., Dennis Collins and Fonzi Thornton.

“I wanted to make an album where I just sang... what better music to work with than the great American songbook of the 60s and 70s?” The boss said in a statement surrounding the album. “I’ve taken my inspiration from Levi Stubbs, David Ruffin, Jimmy Ruffin, the Iceman Jerry Butler, Diana Ross, Dobie Gray and Scott Walker, among many others.

He continued, “I’ve tried to do justice to them all — and to the fabulous writers of this glorious music. My goal is for the modern audience to experience its beauty and joy, just as I have since I first heard it. I hope you love listening to it as much as I loved making it.”

The album marks Springsteen’s 21st studio album and will be available beginning November 11. Check out the entire track list below:

Only The Strong Survive track list
1. Only the Strong Survive
2. Soul Days feat. Sam Moore
3. Nightshift
4. Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)
5. The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore
6. Turn Back the Hands of Time
7. When She Was My Girl
8. Hey, Western Union Man
9. I Wish It Would Rain
10. Don’t Play That Song
11. Any Other Way
12. I Forgot to Be Your Lover feat. Sam Moore
13. 7 Rooms of Gloom
14. What Becomes of the Brokenhearted
15. Someday We’ll Be Together

LISTEN on the Audacy App
Sign up and follow Audacy
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Featured Image Photo Credit: Brian Ach/Getty Images