Which states do and don’t use a vaccine passport?

Photo credit GettyImages

Wisconsin lawmakers have passed a bill banning government entities and businesses from requiring proof of a COVID-19 vaccination to receive services. Wisconsin is now the 16th state to prohibit the use of vaccine passports, while three states have begun using them.

The European Union and other foreign nations like Israel and Australia have gone to a digital passport system used by their citizens to get into gyms, restaurants, and workplaces. But in the U.S., individual states are making their own rules.

So what does it look like in the U.S. with and without the use of vaccine passports?

Prohibiting vaccination passports

Without passports, as state restrictions begin to lift, citizens will be able to go about their day attending gatherings without masks and without needing to provide proof that they received their shots. Essentially states will run on the honor system as most states still ask that unvaccinated people follow restrictions.

The 16 states to ban the use of vaccine passports are:  Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Montana, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.