Inside the 40th Anniversary Edition of Rush's 'Permanent Waves'

The reissue has everything a Rush fan could want

Rush’s seminal album Permanent Waves is celebrating its 40th anniversary with an expansive reissue.

The album marked a shift in their sound yielding more concise, tighter arrangements that lent their hand to radio airplay. The result brought Rush fans some of their most well-known tracks including “The Spirit of Radio” and “Freewill.”

Rush also maintained their progressive rock roots on the album, something that’s especially apparent in the nearly 10-minute closing suite “Natural Science.” The song is divided up into three different sections and seamlessly changes between odd time signatures such as 7/8, 6/8, and 3/4.

The Super Deluxe Edition of the reissue includes two CDs, three 180-gram audiophile black vinyl LPs, a 40-page hardcover book with reimagined artwork by the original album designer Hugh Syme, unreleased photos from the band’s archive, and a 12,000 word essay.

Additionally, this marks the first time the Abbey Road Mastering Studios 2015 album remaster will be available on CD. One of CD’s also contains previously unreleased bonus live tracks from the 1980 Permanent Waves tour from Manchester, England, London, and St. Louis.

You can pre-order the reissue and find out more information about the various packages they have for sale here.

The release marks the band’s first since the passing of legendary drummer Neil Peart. Peart was 67 at the time of his death and had been quietly battling brain cancer for several years. He joined the band in 1974 and became the group’s primary lyricist for years to come.

Peart was responsible for the lyrics on all Permanent Waves songs except “Different Strings,” which was penned by Geddy Lee.

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram