R.E.M., Journey, Pharrell, Vince Gill Among Nominees for Songwriters Hall of Fame

See the complete list
R.E.M., Journey, Vince Gill, Pharrell
R.E.M., Journey, Vince Gill, Pharrell Photo credit Getty Images

The artists who penned some of the most beloved and influential songs in music history are taking their turn in the spotlight.

R.E.M., Journey, Pharrell and Vince Gill are among the two dozen 2020 nominees for the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

There are two categories of nominees: those who are being recognized for their work behind the scenes: “Songwriters” like Pharrell and his collaborator Chad Hugo, aka The Neptunes, and “Performing Songwriters” like R.E.M., Journey and Gill.


Performing Songwriters: Mariah Carey, Gloria Estefan, David Gates, Vince Gill, The Isley Brothers, Journey, The Eurythmics, Mike Love, Steve Miller, Outkast, R.E.M., Patti Smith.

Songwriters: Lynn Ahrens / Stephen Flaherty, Tommy Boyce, Bobby Hart, L. Russell Brown / Irwin Levine, Sonny Curtis, Kye Fleming / Dennis Morgan, Jerry Fuller, Tony Macaulay, Bob McDill, Chad Hugo / Pharrell Williams p/k/a The Neptunes, Roger Nichols, Rick Nowels and William “Mickey” Stevenson.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame recognizes the work and lives of “those composers and lyricists who create music around the world. A songwriter with a notable catalog of songs qualifies for induction 20 years after the first significant commercial release of a song.”

Eligible voters will narrow down the list of nominees, and the winners will be inducted on June 11, 2020 in New York.

Last year’s inductees included Missy Elliott, Yusuf / Cat Stevens and Jack Tempchin who co-wrote several hits with The Eagles and Glen Frey.