Jacoby Shaddix of Papa Roach on 'shut in vibe' of upcoming album, and the band's 2nd 'Greatest Hits'

'It’s the thing that I dreamed about when I was a kid... and we’re celebrating that now'

Papa Roach is celebrating the release of their new album, Greatest Hits, Vol 2. – The Better Noise Years and yet another number one single on Rock radio with us during a RADIO.COM LIVE Check In with host Pat Martin.

Listen to your favorite Rock music now on RADIO.COM.

Papa Roach singer Jacoby Shaddix joined us with a fresh haircut due partly to boredom and partly because he just shot a video with Apocalyptica for their new cover of Cream’s “White Room.” Fans will remember Jacoby’s Classic Rock leanings on his fan-favorite version of Deep Purple’s “Smoke On the Water” that he completed with Carlos Santana for his 2010 covers release Guitar Heaven… which features the guitar icon performing beloved songs with some of Rock’s greatest vocalists. “It’s a classic,” says Shaddix. “That’s why when Apocalyptica called me up to do ‘White Room’ by Cream," Jacoby says, “I remember doing ‘Smoke On the Water’ and how cool and vibey it was it to put my voice on a classic. Just another one of those cool opportunities for me to get in that realm and poke around. I’ve been wanting to collaborate with Apocalyptica for years, they’ve done some great stuff, what a great opportunity, and especially I’ve got the time right now to do that stuff, so I’m taking advantage of it.”

Papa Roach is currently enjoying the success of their single “The Ending,” from 2019’s Who Do You Trust?, which has been stuck seemingly permanently at the top of the Rock Airplay charts. This, Jacoby explained, is the band’s eighth number one. “We’ll get to ten, absolutely man,” says Shaddix.

“It blows me away dude, it really does,” says Jacoby. After starting out on side stages and getting love from radio in their early years, to be able to continue to deliver number one songs is a dream come true. After hearing that “The Ending” had gone to the top of the Rock chart, Jacoby says, “I literally was running around the house screaming!”

Jacoby explained how the single made its way from their 2019 release, through the pandemic, and onto the soundtrack for The Retaliators film. “Instead of just letting it fall by the wayside,” he says their Better Noise record label insisted on pushing the song. “It’s a great way to celebrate these ten years we’ve had together.”

“We’re always challenging ourselves to jump into new realms, new space and try new things. The last two albums we’ve been working with a new set of producers, Nick Furlong and Colin Brittain, and they really excite something in the band," says Shaddix. "They really challenge us, they push us, they encourage us to just jump outside the box and try new things.”

“I think working with those guys opened up a lot of possibilities for us as a band,” he continues. “Sometimes later on in your career you can get stagnant. I started to feel stagnant for a while, not as excited about making records. Not that I didn’t like it… but some of the dreamer in me started to die. Working with these young dudes reminded me of my young self. It awakened this thing inside of me like, ‘dude, keep chasing, keep dreaming!’ That’s where this music is coming from; getting back to… ’why are you doing this?’ It’s a good place to be in as a creative.”

“The Ending” is featured on the band's second Greatest Hits collection which boasts 12 remastered versions of their top ten hits released between 2010 and 2019. Tracks include "Elevate," "Come Around," a new version of "Broken As Me" featuring Asking Alexandria's Alex Worsnop, and more -- plus four brand new remixes and two newly recorded live acoustic tracks.

Just the thought of his band having not one but two Greatest Hits releases is mind-boggling to Jacoby. “It is crazy, it really is,” he says. “When I just let it sink in… It’s the thing that I dreamed about when I was a kid… being a career rock and roller. Somebody that had a legacy in music, and here we are, and we’re celebrating that now. I look back at when we started, it’s been such a journey and this last year has been a cool year of reflection for us.”

Shaddix recently cracked open a storage unit that held items from the band’s past including tons of photos, tour laminates, and other memories which helped in the natural progression of completing the project. “We took a lot of time and care into creating the vinyl, the layout, the whole vibe of it, everything that’s included within it,” he says. “The artwork, picking the way the vinyl themselves look… I just can’t believe it. It’s almost laughable… like, ‘what the f*******? We’re doin’ it, dude!’”

Papa Roach: Greatest Hits Vol. 2 - The Better Noise Years track listing:

1. Born For Greatness (Remastered 2020)
2. Help (Remastered 2020)
3. Elevate (Remastered 2020)
4. Come Around (Remastered 2020)
5. Broken As Me (feat. Danny Worsnop of Asking Alexandria)*
6. Falling Apart (Remastered 2020)
7. Who Do You Trust? (Remastered 2020)
8. Gravity (feat. Maria Brink) (Remastered 2020)
9. American Dreams (Remastered 2020)
10. Face Everything And Rise (Remastered 2020)
11. Periscope (feat. Skylar Grey) (Remastered 2020)
12. Still Swingin' (Remastered 2020)
13. The Ending (Remastered 2020)
14. Burn (Remastered 2020)
15. Kick In The Teeth (Remastered 2020)
16. Elevate (Aelonia Remix)*
17. Help (Aelonia Remix)*
18. Born For Greatness (Cymek Remix) *
19. Top Of The World (Aelonia Remix)*
20. Face Everything And Rise (Live Acoustic) *
21. Leader Of The Broken Hearts (Live Acoustic)*
* previously unreleased

Looking ahead to new music, Jacoby says the band has close to three-quarters of a new record finished. “We took some time and we rented a house. all together locked in this place for a month,” he says. “Everybody got COVID tested, nobody left the house for a month... it was music 24 hours a day for a month. This creative process we got lost in… this shut in vibe… it’s like the farther you dig down creatively and discover this piece, it’s like, ‘well, let’s go farther down the rabbit hole.’ That experience for us really uncovered some rad sounds, some great songs, and just overall a good bonding experience for us.”

Watch the full, exclusive RADIO.COM LIVE Check-In with Papa Roach and Pat Martin up above! Papa Roach's Greatest Hits Vol. 2 - The Better Noise Years will be available everywhere on March 19 via Better Noise Music.

WATCH MORE: Bands That Have Been Rocking and Rolling for Decades


Facebook | Twitter | Instagram