CDC adds 15 more destinations to COVID-19 'high risk' travel list

An American Airlines plane takes off from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport November 23, 2021 in Arlington, Virginia.
ARLINGTON, VA - NOVEMBER 23: An American Airlines plane takes off from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport November 23, 2021 in Arlington, Virginia. Photo credit Drew Angerer/Getty Images

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention added 15 new destinations worldwide to an advisory list that warns against travel due to the "very high" COVID-19 risk.

They recommended that people no longer travel to Colombia, Costa Rica, Fiji, Guadeloupe, Jamaica, Kuwait, Mongolia, Niger, Peru, Romania, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Martin, Tunisia, the United Arab Emirates and the Dominican Republic unless they are fully vaccinated.

Podcast Episode
Coronavirus Daily
The unenforced indoor COVID vaccine mandate in Los Angeles -- What good are COVID tests when results come back weeks later?!
Listen Now
Now Playing
Now Playing

"Do not travel internationally until you are fully vaccinated," the advisory said. "Getting vaccinated is still the best way to protect yourself from severe disease, slow the spread of COVID-19 and reduce the number of new variants. CDC encourages you get a COVID-19 vaccine booster dose if you are eligible. People who are not fully vaccinated should follow additional recommendations before, during and after travel."

The CDC added that travelers should follow all airline requirements and any requirements for these destinations. They advise to get a viral test done one to three days before the trip to check for COVID-19.

These countries are designated as "Level 4" with "very high" COVID-19 risk when there are more than 500 cases per 100,000 residents confirmed over the past 28 days.

Last week, the CDC placed 22 destinations on the "very high" COVID-19 risk list. They are advising to avoid travel to Albania, Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Bermuda, Bolivia, Cape Verde, Egypt, Grenada, Guyana, Israel, Panama, Qatar, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sint Maarten, Suriname, the Bahamas, the British Virgin Islands, the Turks and Caicos Islands and Uruguay.

Canada was also placed on the list of destinations to avoid travel earlier in the month.

Countries that are categorized as "Level 3" with a "high" COVID-19 risk have between 100-500 cases per 100,000 residents over the same 28 day timeframe.

The CDC placed 10 countries on this list on Monday, including Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Guatemala, India, Japan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Mali, Senegal and the Republic of the Congo.

LISTEN on the Audacy App
Sign Up and Follow Audacy
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram