Cuomo: International travelers must quarantine when entering New York; 31 countries exempt

JFK Airport Security Line
Photo credit Photo by Spencer Platt/Getty Images

ALBANY (WCBS 880) — New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo on Monday announced international travelers will also be subjected to a 14-day quarantine, if arriving from certain countries.

Similar to the state travel advisory, travelers from “Level 2 and 3 countries” are required to fill out a health form upon arrival in New York. 

Gov. Cuomo adds that those travelers must participate in a 14-day quarantine, as has been the case since March 2020. 

The Democrat signed the executive order mandating the rules since the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has continued to roll back screening measures at airports accepting international flights. 

"The CDC's decision to end enhanced screening at airports, coupled with alarming case increases in countries around the world, presents an increased threat to New York's progress in the war against COVID-19," Governor Cuomo said. "Today's Executive Order will require the Department of Health to alert all travelers from any Level 2 or Level 3 country of mandatory quarantine requirements, as well as require international travelers to complete the DOH Traveler Health Form to aid in the state's robust contact tracing efforts and further prevent the spread of COVID-19."

There are currently 31 countries that are not subjected to the governor’s executive order. 

They are:

  • American Samoa
  • Anguilla
  • Bonaire
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • Guernsey
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Isle of Man
  • Laos
  • Macau SAR
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia
  • Montserrat
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Palau
  • Saba
  • Saint Barthelemy
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon
  • Sint Eustatius
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste

The executive order builds on the travel advisory that is already in place for states with a significant number of coronavirus cases. That list currently includes 29 states and U.S. territories

The advisory requires individuals who have traveled to New York from areas with significant community spread to quarantine for 14 days. The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

Stay informed, stay connected — follow WCBS 880 on Facebook and TwitterDownload the RADIO.COM app + favorite WCBS 880 for breaking news, traffic and weather alerts.