NEW YORK (WCBS 880) — Samsung Galaxy users worldwide were scratching their heads when they opened up their notifications on Thursday.
Users reported receiving a message from the Find My Mobile app that just read "1." The notification cleared when tapped.
Many were worried that their phones were somehow compromised since the app lets users remotely locate lost smartphones, back up data stored on the device to Samsung Cloud, lock the screen, block access to Samsung Pay and delete all data stored on the device.
Samsung UK's support Twitter page responded to a concerned user explaining that the notification "was sent unintentionally during an internal test" to a limited number of phones and had no effect on the devices.