Quinnen Williams is Jets' nominee for NFL's 2021 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award


Quinnen Williams has been named the Jets’ nominee for the NFL’s 2021 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award, given annually to an NFL player for outstanding community service activities off the field, as well as excellence on the field.

"It's an honor to be recognized by the Jets organization for such a prestigious nomination," Williams told Jets.com of the nomination. "I have always believed that the work and effort displayed on-field should replicate the passions for community service a player has off the field. Working with the American Cancer Society and creating the Quinnen Williams Foundation are two of my proudest and most significant achievements in my career."

Live On-Air
WFAN Sports Radio 101.9 FM/66AM New York
Listen Now
Now Playing
Now Playing

Helping the impoverished near his hometown of Birmingham, Alabama, has been Williams’ biggest cause. He created his foundation to help tackle poverty in the area, where they provide $50,000 of aid annually to single-parent families selected by Quinnen himself, and Williams also created The Williams Scholarship to provide financial aid to low-income minorities in the Birmingham area, with winners each receiving $3,000.

Williams’ work with the American Cancer Society stems from him losing his mother to breast cancer, and led to events such as Williams speaking virtually with pediatric cancer patients this past September and meeting with five breast cancer survivors prior to the Jets’ Crucial Catch game on Oct. 3.

"Quinnen exemplifies all of the greatest aspects of a professional athlete," Jets President Hymie Elhai said in the release announcing Williams’ nomination. "Not only has he displayed superb confidence and ability on the football field but has also dedicated so much of his time to communities and causes close to him. He has inspired all of us here at the Jets and continues to pave the way for those who come through this organization and the league."

Listen to New York sports talk now on Audacy and shop the latest Jets team gear

The winner of the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award will receives a $250,000 donation in his name to a charity of his choice, while the other 31 finalists also receive donations in their name of up to $40,000 each to charities of their choice – Williams has chosen his own foundation -- courtesy of the NFL Foundation and Nationwide.

Williams, along with the Giants’ Logan Ryan and the other 30 nominees, will learn who wins on Thursday, Feb. 10, during the NFL Honors broadcast. Seattle’s Russell Wilson was last year’s winner.

Follow Lou DiPietro on Twitter: @LouDiPietroWFAN

Follow WFAN on Social Media
Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Instagram  |  YouTube  |  Twitch