Sabres extend qualifying offers to five restricted free agents

Two players did not receiver qualifying offers, making them unrestricted free agents

Buffalo, N.Y. (WGR 550) – The Buffalo Sabres have extended qualifying offers to five of their restricted free agents.

Forwards Casey Mittelstadt and Rasmus Asplund have were given qualifying offers from the team, as well as defensemen Rasmus Dahlin, Henri Jokiharju and Casey Fitzgerald.

Forward Dawson DiPietro and goalie Stefanos Lekkas were not qualified by the Sabres, making them unrestricted free agent.

The Sabres signed DiPietro on March 23, 2020 after four seasons at Western Michigan University. The winger did not play last season due to injury.

Lekkas was signed because of all the injuries the Sabres had in goal. In seven games in Rochester, Lekkas was 1-5-1 with a 4.32 goals-against average and an .863 save percentage.

The NHL's free agency period officially opens on Wednesday at 12 p.m. ET.

2021 NHL Draft sponsors

Jim's Steakout:
Fiegel, Carr and Joyce:
Ray Laks Honda:

Featured Image Photo Credit: Bruce Bennett - Getty Images