Sabres name Kyle Okposo 20th captain in team history

Kevyn Adams made the announcement in front of the team and their families

Buffalo, N.Y. (WGR 550) – The next captain of the Buffalo Sabres is Kyle Okposo. General manager Kevyn Adams made the announcement Saturday during a team party for the players’ families.

The alternate captains this season are Zemgus Girgensons and Rasmus Dahlin.

It’s obvious Adams wanted to make the announcement in front of the families, but none of the three players will be available to speak until Monday, because the team has Sunday off.

Live On-Air
Ask Your Smart Speaker to Play W G R 5 50
WGR 550 SportsRadio
Listen Now
Now Playing
Now Playing

Okposo is the 20th captain in team history. The others to don the "C" for the franchise are:

- Floyd Smith
- Gerry Meehan
- Jim Schoenfeld
- Danny Gare
- Gil Perreault
- Mike Ramsey
- Mike Foligno
- Lindy Ruff
- Pat LaFontaine
- Michael Peca
- Stu Barnes
- Chris Drury
- Danny Briere
- Jason Pominville
- Thomas Vanek
- Steve Ott
- Craig Rivet
- Brian Gionta
- Jack Eichel

Podcast Episode
Sabres Hockey
09-22 Kyle Okposo
Listen Now
Now Playing
Now Playing

After playing 529 games with the New York Islanders, Okposo signed a free agent contract with the Sabres in 2016, and has played 380 games with Buffalo for a total of 909 NHL games.

Photo credit Losi and Gangi
Featured Image Photo Credit: Buffalo Sabres (@BuffaloSabres)