Roquan Smith named Bears' winner of Ed Block Courage Award

Players for each of the NFL's 32 teams vote on the award winner.

(670 The Score) Bears linebacker Roquan Smith has been voted as the team's winner of the Ed Block Courage Award.

The recognition is given out to one player on each of the NFL's 32 teams "who best exemplifies a commitment to sportsmanship and courage and serves as an inspiration in the locker room." The award winner is voted on by players.

In conjunction with the Ed Block Courage Award, the Bears have designated the Maryville Academy in Des Plaines as their "Courage House," which supports children suffering from abuse or neglect. The team uses the Ed McCaskey Scholarship fund to form donations for children of Maryville Academy.

A first-round pick of the Bears in 2018, the 24-year-old Smith had 139 total tackles and two interceptions last season.

A longtime athletic trainer for the Baltimore Colts, Block and his wife dedicated their lives to helping children in distress with foster care.

Chris Emma covers the Bears, Chicago’s sports scene and more for Follow him on Twitter @CEmma670.