Chili Peppers out, Machine Gun Kelly in for 2022 Billboard Music Awards

The BBMAs happen live this Sunday May 15 at 8PM ET / 7PM CT
Machine Gun Kelly
Photo credit (Photo by Marcelo Hernandez/Getty Images)

The BBMAs are doing a bit of a lineup shuffle ahead of the big event this weekend.

Listen to Billboard Music Awards Radio, now on Audacy

Exclusive Station
2022 Billboard Music Awards Radio
Listen Now
Now Playing
Now Playing

Machine Gun Kelly and Dan + Shay have been added as performers at the 2022 Billboard Music Awards while Red Hot Chili Peppers have dropped out of the lineup.

The BBMAs made the announcement on Twitter saying, “due to unforeseen circumstances, the Red Hot Chili Peppers will not be able to perform at the Billboard Music Awards on Sunday. They look forward to seeing you on the road this summer!”

The Chili Peppers last performed at the BBMAs in 1999 when they played “Scar Tissue” and brought out Snoop Dogg for a cover of the Funkadelic track “Red Hot Mama.”

The additions of MGK (who will make his BBMAs performance debut this year) and Dan + Shay add to an already star-studded lineup featuring Rauwn Alejandro, Latto, Burna Boy, Megan Thee Stallion, Florence + The Machine, Maxwell, Morgan Wallen, Silk Sonic, Becky G, Ed Sheeran, Elle King & Miranda Lambert, and Travis Scott.

On the awards side, The Weeknd leads the way with a whopping 17 total nominations. Doja Cat is next up as she’s also the top female finalist with 14 nominations. Kanye West, Olivia Rodrigo, and Justin Bieber are all tied for third with 13 nominations. The BBMAs also announced Mary J. Blige as the recipient of the Icon Award at this year’s show.

The 2022 Billboard Music Awards will air live on NBC from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on May 15 at 8PM ET / 5PM PT. Before the big night, be sure to check out Audacy's exclusive BBMA radio station now.

LISTEN on the Audacy App
Sign up and follow Audacy
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram