KDHE adds Connecticut to travel quarantine list

KDHE adds Connecticut to travel quarantine list

The Kansas Department of Health and Environment has added one state to the quarantine list: Connecticut.  Any individual returning to Kansas from a location on the list is required to quarantine themselves for 14 days.

The current list includes Kansans who have:

Traveled to Connecticut on or after April 6.Traveled to Louisiana or anywhere in Colorado on or after March 27.Traveled to Illinois or New Jersey on or after March 23.Traveled to a state with known widespread community transmission (California, Florida, New York and Washington state) on or after March 15.Traveled on a cruise ship or river cruise on or after March 15.Traveled internationally on or after March 15.

The KDHE does note these mandates do not apply to critical infrastructure sectors needed to continue operations during this pandemic. In a statement they say, "While KDHE strongly recommends these quarantine restrictions for everyone, we do recognize that medical care needs to continue and no healthcare facility should ever be to a point where it would need to close due to staff being quarantined. We ask facilities to ensure they have updated their Emergency Preparedness Plans and implement protocols to ensure that no employee comes to work symptomatic. Other examples of critical infrastructures include pharmaceutical and food supply, along with others defined by the Department of Homeland Security."

For more information, visit the KDHE website at kdhe.ks.gov/coronavirus.