Andre Johnson, Steve Smith among Hall of Fame semifinalists

Podcast Episode
In The Loop
Houston Texans At Thanksgiving Dinner By John Lopez
Listen Now
Now Playing
Now Playing

Seven first-time eligible former players, including wide receivers Andre Johnson, Steve Smith and Anquan Boldin, are among 26 modern day semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s class of 2022.

Joining them as candidates for induction next year are outstanding kick returner Devin Hester; pass-rushing standouts Robert Mathis and DeMarcus Ware; and former Patriots and Texans run-stuffing defensive tackle Vince Wilfork. Each last played in the 2016 season.

Johnson, the Texans legend, told Fox 26's Mark Berman he would love for supporters to "flood Canton out and everybody just party together and have a great time" if he becomes a Hall of Famer.