NHL Awards: David Pastrnak makes First Team; Tuukka Rask second in Vezina voting


David Pastrnak had already won a share of the Rocket Richard Trophy after tying for the lead league in goals with 48 this season, and now he has collected another impressive honor.

The Bruins right wing was one of the six players named to the NHL First All-Star Team Monday night. This year’s group of six is a historic one, as it’s the first time since the inaugural All-Star Team in 1930-31 that all six players on the First Team have been first-timers, and the first time ever that there have been no Canadians on the First Team.

Pastrnak, from the Czech Republic, is joined by Oilers center Leon Draisaitl (Germany), Rangers left wing Artemi Panarin (Russia), Predators defenseman Roman Josi (Switzerland), Capitals defenseman John Carlson (USA) and Jets goalie Connor Hellebuyck (USA).

Two Bruins made the Second Team, with Brad Marchand snagging the left wing spot and Tuukka Rask earning the nod in goal. Marchand also made the Second Team last year and previously made the First Team in 2016-17. Rask made the First Team in his 2013-14 Vezina Trophy season.

Speaking of the Vezina, Rask finished second in this year’s voting to first-time winner Hellebuyck. Hellebuyck collected 19 first-place votes and 123 total points, while Rask got 10 first-place votes and 99 total points.

Pastrnak finished fourth in Hart Trophy voting for league MVP with 369 total points and three first-place votes, well behind first-time winner Draisaitl (1,309 and 91), Nathan MacKinnon (1,162 and 48) and Panarin (889 and 24).