2022 Memphis Sports Hall of Fame to Induct 27 including Hollins, DeAngelo, & Lawler. Full coverage on 92.9 FM ESPN


The 2022 Memphis Sports Hall of Fame will include 27-inductees including DeAngelo Williams, Jerry "The King" Lawler, and former Grizzlies Head Coach Lionel Hollins. The 2022 induction ceremony will be held at the Renasant convention Center on October 20th.

Live On-Air
Ask Your Smart Speaker to Play Ninety Two Nine E S P N
92.9 FM ESPN
Listen Now
Now Playing
Now Playing

The full list includes:
Gene Bartow, legendary Memphis State Men's Basketball Coach

John "Bull" Bramlett, Memphis State 2-sport star in baseball and football from 1959 through 1965

Ambrose "Bud" Dudley, founder of the AutoZone Liberty Bowl

Steve Ehrhart, Executive Director of the AutoZone Liberty Bowl since 1994, former Executive Director of the USFL, president-part owner Memphis Showboats, & GM of the XFL Memphis Maniax (2001)

Missy Gregg, 2X national soccer player of the year (Division II) with Christian Brothers University

Michael Heisley, former majority owner of the Memphis Grizzlies who brought the team to Memphis from Vancouver in 2001

Lionel Hollins, former Memphis Grizzlies Coach and NBA star who coached the Grizzlies to a Western Conference finals appearance in 2013

Mary Lou Johns, first head coach of the University of Memphis women's basketball team and the program's winningest coach

Fred Jones, founder of the Southern Heritage Classic

Jerry "The King" Lawler, iconic wrestling star and announcer. Joined the WWE Hall of Fame in 2007

Charlie Lea, Collierville native who pitched eight big league seasons after playing for the Memphis Chicks from 1978-80

Bill "Spook" Murphy, Memphis State Football coach who finished with a 91-44-1 record, winning the Missouri Valley Conference three times before being inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2022

Elliot Perry, Memphis Tiger basketball star from 1987-91 before playing in the NBA including one season with the Memphis Grizzlies. Perry is an analyst on 92.9 FM ESPN as part of the Grizzlies Radio Network

DeAngelo Williams, who is arguably the greatest football player to ever emerge from the Memphis area before playing at the University of Memphis and moving on to the NFL as a 1st round draft pick. Williams played 11 season with the Steelers and Panthers.

Others include: Dr. James Prothro (baseball), Loren Roberts (golf), Linda Street (Memphis Lady Tigers playing great)

From the Memphis Prep ranks: Joe Branch (Bolton), Derek Hunter (Central, Booker T Washington, Mitchell), Buster Kelso (CBHS, Lausanne), Ken Netherland (Hillcrest, St George's, Lausanne), Tom Nix (CBHS), Jerry Peters (MUS), Jake Rudolph (MUS), Terry Tippett (Trezvant, White Station), Barbara Whitaker (played at Memphis State, coached at Germantown), and Lloyd Williams (Hamilton/Memphis Catholic)