Mack Hollins' TD correctly overturned; don't blame the refs, blame the rule

Atlanta Falcons WR Mack Hollins ruled out of bounds during e game against the Green Bay Packers
Atlanta Falcons WR Mack Hollins ruled out of bounds during e game against the Green Bay Packers Photo credit Kevin C. Cox / Staff

With the Atlanta Falcons trailing the Green Bay Packers 17-9 midway through the third quarter, Desmond Ridder threw a touchdown to WR Mack Hollins in the back of the end zone that was initially ruled a catch before being overturned to an incomplete pass after a video review.

Andy and Randy reaction to Falcons overall performance in clip below:

While the rule itself may be confusing, to the frustration of Falcons fans at Mercedes-Benz Stadium and watching at home, the game officials actually did make the correct call.

Walt Anderson, NFL Senior Vice President of Officiating, spoke with PFWA pool reporter (and AJC Falcons Beat Writer) D. Orlando Ledbetter about the decision and Anderson explained why the play was eventually ruled an incomplete pass despite Hollins originally getting both feet inbounds.

“The toes are down but he is making a continuous step. If it’s all in one step and any part of the foot lands out of bounds it’s out of bounds," details Walt Anderson. "Had he been able to drag his toe some distance and then you end up stepping then you get the benefit of the drag, but when it’s all in one step, one motion, any part of the foot comes down out of bounds, then it’s out of bounds.”

While the rule itself is frustrating, and feels a bit open to interpretation, based on how it's currently written, it was correctly ruled an incomplete pass. Luckily for the officiating crew, and for Falcons fans, they were able to complete the comeback victory over the Packers and ultimately this controversial decision didn't negatively affect the result of the game.

Featured Image Photo Credit: Kevin C. Cox / Staff