NBA admits officiating error late in Bulls' loss to Cavaliers, as Donovan Mitchell should've been called for lane violation ahead of tying layup

75756A5E-120A-4932-810C-2FD980DB785E

(670 The Score) Bulls coach Billy Donovan was right, as the video evidence was as conclusive as it gets.

Live On-Air
Ask Your Smart Speaker to Play six seventy the score
670 The Score
Listen Now
Now Playing
Now Playing

Cavaliers star guard Donovan Mitchell should’ve been called for a lane violation while intentionally missing a free throw with 4.4 seconds remaining in regulation of Cleveland’s comeback win against Chicago on Monday evening, the NBA ruled in its last two-minute report that was released Tuesday. On the pivotal play that began with the Bulls leading 130-128 and likely just needing a rebound to secure a victory, Mitchell intentionally missed a free throw, quickly snaked his way into the right side of the lane to rebound his own miss and then flicked in a tough layup to tie the game.

Free-throw shooters aren’t allowed to cross the plane of the free-throw line until the ball has hit the rim or backboard. Mitchell clearly did, which Donovan realized immediately and expressed frustration about in his postgame interview following the eventual 145-134 loss in overtime on a night in which Mitchell erupted for 71 points.

Monday marked the second time in three nights that officials missed a key call late as the Bulls suffered a close loss to the Cavaliers. On Saturday at the United Center, Chicago star DeMar DeRozan missed a baseline jumper in the waning seconds of a 103-102 loss to Cleveland. In the last two-minute report of that game, the NBA ruled Cavaliers wing Caris LeVert should’ve been called for a foul on DeRozan, who would’ve had two free throws to potentially tie and win the game.

On the controversial play Monday, Bulls forward Patrick Williams failed to box out Mitchell. Donovan didn’t totally absolve Williams of blame despite the officiating error – “We gotta block out better regardless of the situation,” he said – but also expressed great frustration.

“Listen, it's been two games in a row," Donovan told reporters after the loss Monday. "DeMar obviously got fouled the other night against them. And I think the two-minute report will come out and say he crossed the line. I could be wrong and if I'm wrong, I'll apologize. But at least what I saw on film, it made it hard for Patrick to block him out because he was certainly across the free-throw line before the ball hit the rim. And if that's the case, it's a violation. And my question would be: Who is looking at that? And again, if I'm wrong, then I'll apologize and say I was wrong. But that's what the rule is, so clearly we're going to see that in the two-minute report.”

The NBA also ruled that Cavaliers big man Jarrett Allen should’ve been called for traveling with 12.1 seconds left in regulation just before he made a shot to pull Cleveland within 128-127.

The Bulls dropped to 16-21 with the loss and sit in a tie for 11th place in the East entering play Tuesday.

Cody Westerlund is a sports editor for 670TheScore.com and covers the Bulls. Follow him on Twitter @CodyWesterlund.

Listen live to 670 The Score via:
Audacy App  |  Online Stream  |  Smart Speaker

Featured Image Photo Credit: Ken Blaze/USA Today Sports