Eminem, Dolly Parton, and Duran Duran lead 2022 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame class

The 2022 induction ceremony will take place on November 5
2022 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees
Photo credit Dolly Parton (Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images for ACM)/Duran Duran (Photo by Jeff Spicer/Getty Images for Global Citizen)/Eminem (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

The votes have been tallied and the results are in. The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame is set to share its class of 2022 inductees.

Listen to your favorite music now on Audacy, like Dolly Parton Radio

Exclusive Station
Dolly Parton Radio
Listen Now
Now Playing
Now Playing

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announced its 2022 inductees as the class features four categories honoring artists and those who’ve made significant contributions to the music industry.

Dolly Parton, Eminem, Duran Duran, Lionel Richie, Pat Benatar, Eurythmics, and Carly Simon will all be inducted into the Rock Hall in the performer category. The seven artists to be inducted in 2022 marks an increase from last year when only six were inducted.

After publicly declaring that she was removing herself from consideration into the Rock Hall (something the Rock Hall never went along with anyway), Dolly Parton will likely still have a smile on her face when she finds out the news. Last week, Parton changed her tone and said she’d “accept gracefully” if she found out she was inducted. “I would just say thanks and I’ll accept it because the fans vote,” she said.

LISTEN: Rock Hall CEO Greg Harris explains how the Hall chooses inductees

Judas Priest and songwriter-producer duo Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis both earned inductions into the Rock Hall this year as they’ll be honored with the Musical Excellence Award. The Rock Hall says the award is given to “artists, musicians, songwriters and producers whose originality and influence creating music have had a dramatic impact on music.”

Harry Belafonte and Elizabeth Cotten will be inducted this year and recognized the the Early Influence Award while Allen Grubman, Jimmy Iovine, and Sylvia Robinson round out the remaining inductees as the Ahmet Ertegun Award honorees.

A total of 17 artists were nominated for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame this year. Those that didn’t make the cut include Beck, Devo, Dionne Warwick, A Tribe Called Quest, MC5, Kate Bush, Rage Against The Machine, New York Dolls, and Fela Kuti.

The class of 2022 will feature five artists who were first time nominees on the ballot: Parton, Richie, Duran Duran, Eminem, and Simon. Eminem was the sole artist who was inducted during his first year of eligibility. Both Eurythmics and Pat Benatar were on the ballot for the second time.

The 2022 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on November 5.

LISTEN on the Audacy App
Sign up and follow Audacy
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram