The 1975 reveal plans as Record Store Day ambassadors

'Independent record stores are the lifeblood of the music industry'
The 1975
Photo credit Jason Koerner/Getty Images
By , Audacy

The 1975 have proudly announced their role as Record Store Day 2023 ambassadors.

Listen to The 1975 Radio and more on the free Audacy app

On Saturday, April 22, hundreds of independent record shops will celebrate their culture with many exclusive vinyl releases and shop performances. And as part of their celebration in the annual endeavor, the Manchester band will be releasing a live performance with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra on vinyl for the first time.

Recorded back in 2016, the double LP features band favorites and standout singles, including “Somebody Else”, “Chocolate” and “The Sound.”

The 1975 follow a list of pretty impressive previous ambassadors including Taylor Swift – who was last year announced as the first-ever global ambassador of Record Store Day. As well as Noel GallagherThe Big Moon and Elton John.

Announcing the honor on social, frontman Matty Healy wrote, “the guys and I are really proud to be ambassadors for Record Store Day this year. Independent record stores are the lifeblood of the music industry and have played a crucial role in our story so far. It couldn’t be more important to support their vital community and culture.”

And like they said, this notion isn’t something new for them. With their latest album Being Funny In A Foreign Language, The 1975 released an exclusive white vinyl made specially for record stores. And held an intimate show at Kingston’s Banquet Records the night before the album came out.

The 1975 - Live With The BBC Philharmonic Orchestra exclusive Record Day vinyl release will will be available in three formats: 2xLP clear vinyl in a gatefold packaging, 1xCD and 1xCassette, and only at participating record stores in the UK. So for those of you across the pond, check out the list of participating shops here, and the album's full tracklist below.

The 1975 Live With The BBC Philharmonic Orchestra
1. I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it
2. Love Me
3. A Change Of Heart
4. Somebody Else
5. Loving Someone
6. Please Be Naked
7. Lostmyhead
8. If I Believe You
9. Chocolate
10. The Sound

LISTEN on the Audacy App
Sign Up and Follow Audacy 
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Featured Image Photo Credit: Jason Koerner/Getty Images