Test to stay expands across Erie County school districts

Test to stay
Photo credit © Merrily Cassidy/USA TODAY NETWORK / USA TODAY NETWORK

Buffalo, N.Y. (WBEN) - After getting clearance from New York State and Erie County, the test to stay program aimed at keeping more students in schools is expanding to sixteen districts and schools across Erie County.

The Erie County Department of Health is launching test to stay programs with 16 Erie County school districts and 11 non-public schools. The schools and districts listed below expressed an interest in implementing the option for their students, and will work closely with the ECDOH Epidemiology School Team to coordinate testing and data reporting. ECDOH shared information with these schools on how to pick up a supply of COVID-19 test kits, and the department hopes that many schools will begin this program by the end of the week.

The test to stay program was originally unveiled in the Grand Island district only as a trial district and was heralded as a success.

Test to stay allows students, who would otherwise be subject to quarantine at home, to attend classes following an in-school COVID-19 exposure, as long as they remain symptom free.

Participating schools and school districts include:

Alden Central School District

Akron Central School District

Amherst Central School District

Clarence Central School District

Cleveland Hill UFSD

Eden Central School District

Erie 1 BOCES

Frontier Central School District

Iroquois Central School District

Kenmore-Town of Tonawanda UFSD

Lackawanna City School District

Lancaster Central School District

Sweet Home Central School District

Tonawanda City Schools
Williamsville Central School District

West Seneca Central School District

Bishop Timon - St. Jude High School

Buffalo Seminary

Canisius High School

Christian Central Academy

Mount Mercy Academy

Nardin Academy

The Park School of Buffalo

Sacred Heart Academy

St. Joseph's Collegiate Institute

South Buffalo Charter School

Tapestry Charter School