N'Keal Harry on blown call: 'Everyone clearly saw it was a touchdown'

75756A5E-120A-4932-810C-2FD980DB785E

FOXBOROUGH -- N'Keal Harry should have had the second touchdown of his NFL career Sunday in the 23-16 Patriots loss to the Chiefs.

Trailing 23-13 with just over 13 minutes left in the game, Harry caught a pass on the 15-yard line on an end-around and ran towards the goal-line. After using his speed to get outside, the rookie extended the ball towards the pylon and hit it, but the referees ruled he stepped out at the 3-yard line.

Since the Patriots had used all their challenges earlier in the game, and it wasn't ruled a touchdown on the field, the play could not be reviewed.

The play did pick up a first down, but the next three plays went: loss of two yards, incompletion sack, so the drive resulted in a field goal, not a touchdown.

"I mean, I thought it was a touchdown," Harry said afterwards. "I am pretty sure everybody else thought it was a touchdown. It’s out of our control, out of my control.”

He added: “We all knew it was a touchdown. Everyone clearly saw it was a touchdown, but like I said it’s out of our control.”

Despite the missed call, and several others within the game, the Patriots fought hard until the end. Ultimately, they came up short when a pass from the 3-yard line fell incomplete on fourth-and-goal in the final two minutes.

“Like I said, it’s frustrating, but we didn’t hang our heads on it," Harry said. "We just kept moving forward. That is all you can do.”

The rookie first-round pick wasn't really involved much in the gameplan, playing just one snap in the first half, but he was out there in the fourth quarter during a critical spot in the red zone.

This potentially could be part of his role down the stretch and in the playoffs. He has a big body and seems to have a hard running style with the ball in his hands, so the red zone might be the best way to get something out of him.

Harry and the team have three more regular-season games to figure that out before the playoffs.

N’Keal Harry was somehow ruled out of bounds here and cost the Patriots 4 points because they ultimately settled for a field goal #KCvsNE pic.twitter.com/dTjJCnmBVA

— Bad Sports Refs (@BadSportsRefs) December 9, 2019