NBA reveals officiating errors in Celtics' loss to Pacers

75756A5E-120A-4932-810C-2FD980DB785E

"I can't wait until four o'clock tomorrow," exclaimed a visibly agitated Joe Mazzulla after his team’s 133-131 defeat to the Indiana Pacers on Monday night.

"Four o'clock, four o'clock," Mazzulla continuously muttered, eagerly anticipating the release of the NBA's last two-minute report.

The play in question unfolded with the game tied at 131 apiece and just 3.2 seconds remaining. Jaylen Brown pulled up for a 14-foot baseline jumper, aiming to put the Celtics ahead. Pacers' guard Buddy Hield attempted to block the shot from behind, making clear contact with the back of Brown’s head. Despite the contact, Brown maintained control and managed to release a shot -- albeit missing the mark.

Referee Derek Richardson initially called a foul on Hield. However, following Indiana head coach Rick Carlisle's challenge and a review by the NBA replay center, the call was overturned. Crew chief James Williams explained that Hield had hit the ball.

Coming as a surprise to many, the last two-minute report revealed the overturned foul call was a correct no-call.

The report stated, “The coach's challenge of the shooting foul called on Hield (IND) was deemed successful. The video clearly shows that Hield reaches forward and makes contact with the ball from behind Brown (BOS). While in contact with the ball, Hield also makes minimal contact with Brown's head, and on review that contact was correctly deemed incidental.”

“As the rulebook makes clear, the mere fact that contact occurs does not necessarily constitute a foul; contact which is incidental to an effort by a player to defend an opponent, reach a loose ball, or perform normal defensive or offensive movements is not considered illegal. Play resumed with IND possession, since Nesmith (IND) had imminent possession at the point of interruption.

Even Hield, according to Mazzulla, admitted to committing a foul.

"Buddy Hield told me that he fouled him [Jaylen Brown], so I can't wait for the last two-minute report," said the frustrated coach postgame.

Hield did not dispute Mazzulla's account, stating, "I mean, I told Joe what I told Joe. But they have three refs out there and they have the replay center, and that's what replay is for, I guess."

“I was thinking I might have hit him [Brown] a little bit, but they have three refs out there and they have cameras and they get to slow down the angles of it. I felt like it was not excessive contact. I know I touched the ball, I maybe nicked Brown in the head a little bit. I’m not too sure.” the Pacers guard added.

The report also highlighted that the foul called on Kristaps Porzingis when contesting a Benedict Mathurin three-point attempt with 0.6 seconds was the incorrect call.

“Porzingis (BOS) is above the ball and legally contests Mathurin's (IND) shot attempt, with some incidental arm contact occurring concurrent with the block,” the report revealed.

In addition, the report also acknowledged a missed offensive foul call on Myles Turner during the same play for setting a moving screen against Derrick White. The report outlined, "Turner (IND) turns his lower body into White (BOS) and delivers contact during the screen."

Mathurin made two crucial free throws, giving Indiana a two-point lead. This proved decisive, as a Luke Kornet tip-in attempt off an inbound pass from Derrick White rolled out as time expired.

Featured Image Photo Credit: Trevor Ruszkowski-USA TODAY Sports