Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame announces Class of 2023

The class is headlined by two former Bills wide receivers and a former Sabres captain and general manager

Buffalo, N.Y. (WGR 550) - The Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame has announced its induction class for 2023, featuring 12 new incoming members to the Hall of Fame.

Highlighting this year's class includes two former Buffalo Bills receivers - Eric Moulds (1996-2005) and Bobby Chandler (1971-79) - as well as former Buffalo Sabres captain and general manager Gerry Meehan.


Moulds played most of his career in Buffalo after being drafted in the first round (24th overall) of the 1996 NFL Draft out of Mississippi State. In his 10 seasons with the Bills, Moulds caught 675 passes for 9,096 yards and 48 touchdowns. He also earned three Pro Bowl nods with the Bills.

The best season Moulds had in Buffalo was when he caught 100 balls for 1,292 yards and 10 touchdowns during the 2002 campaign with quarterback Drew Bledsoe.

As for Chandler, he was a Second-Team All-Pro selection in 1975 and 1977 while with the Bills. Over his nine years spent with the Bills, Chandler caught 295 passes for 3,999 yards and 34 touchdowns.

He went on to play for the Raiders organization in the final three years of his career, where he won the Super Bowl in 1980.

Chandler sadly passed away in 1995 at the age of 45 after a brief four-month battle with a rare form of lung cancer.

From 1970-75, Meehan scored 94 goals and put up 208 points with the Sabres, and served as captain of the team for three season. Over the course of his 10 seasons in the NHL, Meehan went on to score 180 goals.

Meehan eventually became general manager of the Sabres from 1986-93, with his biggest contribution coming with the defection of winger Alexander Mogilny from the Soviet Union to play in Buffalo.

The 33rd class of the Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame will be inducted during a dinner, which will be announced at a later date.

Here are the other members set for induction as part of the Class of 2023:

- Dave Wohlabaugh: Hamburg native that was drafted by the New England Patriots, and started every game over four years. Was a member of the Patriots’ Super Bowl XXXI team, and was named to the Patriots’ "All-'90s" team.

- Adam Page: Buffalo native and three-time Gold medalist for Team USA Paralympic sled hockey team. He is also the co-founder of the Sled Hockey Foundation, providing individuals with impairments the opportunity to take part in para ice hockey.

- Cheryl Bailey: Jamestown native and college coach, administrator who served as the general manager of the United States Women’s National Soccer Team.

- Bud Bakewell: Western New York youth sports pioneer, particularly with hockey. First American named to the Old Timers Hockey News Hall of Fame in Canada.

- Santo DeSain: Legendary Erie Community College coach who led women’s basketball, softball, and baseball to a combined .779 winning percentage, and several championships.

- Drake Francescone: Longtime City Honors coach, who coached seven different sports over 23 years, capturing 49 city championships, 12 Section VI championships, and a number of state titles.

- Kara Haun-Rehbaum: College athlete and administrator – standout at Canisius College, scoring 1,661 points for the Lady Griffs, and is now in her 14th year as athletic administrator at Hilbert College.

- Eddie Malanowicz: Two-sport athlete at UB. He captained the Bulls basketball and football teams in 1932. Led the basketball team to a 45-4 record over three seasons, and he still holds the school record for a 104-yard kickoff return for a touchdown.

- Otto Orf: Elma native, and one of the most recognized goalkeepers in the history of indoor pro soccer. He later served as goalkeeper coach and assistant coach of the US Men’s Futsal National Team.

Photo credit Losi and Gangi
Featured Image Photo Credit: Rick Stewart - Stringer via Getty Images