Three In-State College Football Players Named To Preseason Maxwell Award Watchlist

Maxwell Trophy Photo credit USATI

Three in-state college football players have landed on the preseason watch list for a prestigious national award. Clemson RB Will Shipley, Coastal Carolina QB Grayson McCall and South Carolina Transfer QB Spencer Rattler are among the 85 players nationwide, named to the preseason watch list for the Maxwell Award.

Live On-Air
Ask Your Smart Speaker to Play 97 1 the fan upstate
The Fan Upstate
Listen Now
Now Playing
Now Playing

Alabama QB Bryce Young won the award in 2021. The Maxwell Award has been around since 1937. McCall was a semifinalist for the award last year and is back to lead the Coastal Carolina offense.

Shipley had a strong freshman campaign for the Tigers, despite battling injuries last season. He had 3 games with over 100 rushing yards, 5 with 80 or more yards on the ground, 4 games with more than one rushing TD and averaged 5 yards per carry.

Rattler joins the Gamecock program after going 15-2 in 17 starts at Oklahoma over the last three seasons. He completed 70% of his passes and threw for at least one TD in 16 of his 17 starts as a Sooner.

The finalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced November 22nd, with the winner to be named December 8th.