SC Football Hall Of Fame Ceremony held in Greenville

Photo credit SC Football Hall Of Fame

The South Carolina Football Hall of Fame inducted its newest class in the Upstate, Friday. It was the 10th annual enshrinement event for the organization and there's plenty of local ties for the 5 member class.

The class includes legendary former Wofford Coach Mike Ayers. He spent 30 years at the helm of Wofford Football. Ayers led the program to over 200 wins and five SoCon Titles. He was also named Conference Coach Of The Year, five times.

Former Clemson O-lineman Joe Bostic is also in the group. He was a two-time 1st All American during his time in Tiger Town. In 1979, Bostic was named to the NFL All-Rookie Team, he spent 10 seasons with the Cardinals organization.

One of the all time best DB's in Gamecock History Brad Edwards is set to be enshrined. He starred in Columbia before spending time with the Minnesota Vikings, Washington Redskins and Atlanta Falcons. He helped Washington win a Super Bowl. Edwards is one of only 12 players to pick off two passes in the same Super Bowl.

Greenwood native John Gilliam is also in the group. He played at SC State before becoming a 4 time Pro Bowl selection with the Vikings and appearing in two Super Bowls.

Furman legend and former Bengals RB Stanford Jennings rounds out the class. Jennings helped lead the Paladins to three SoCon title in his four seasons. He was named Conference Player Of The Year three times and was All-American in 1982.

The induction ceremony was held Friday evening at the Greenville Hilton near Haywood Mall.

Featured Image Photo Credit: SC Football Hall Of Fame